Foundation Scholarship Endowment Awards: Cheyenna Henry

Cheyenna Henry, the daughter of Stuart and Carrie Henry, all of Connersville, received the Class of 1952 Scholarship, Marion Hobbs Moore Scholarship, and the Alquina Elementary PTO Scholarship, all endowments of the Fayette County Foundation.  All scholarships require that applicants have at least a 3.0 GPA, are a graduating senior of Connersville High School.

Class of 1952 Scholarship was created in 2002 with gifts from classmates of the CHS class of 1952. The idea originated at the Class’ 50-year class reunion in 2002 as a way to forever honor the memory of the Class of 1952. The founding contributors are Elizabeth Joyner, Nancy Wilson, and Chester O’Neal Jr.

Marion Hobbs Moore Scholarship, founded in 2006, was created by Tom and Louise Whitaker in honor of their friend, Marion.  This general scholarship offers assistance to qualified CHS students.

Alquina Elementary PTO Scholarship is available to graduating CHS seniors who attended Alquina Elementary School for at least three years. The scholarship was created in 2011, the same year the school was closed.

Cheyenna Henry graduated in the top 10 of her senior class while maintaining athletic excellence as well.  Cheyenna said, “Three out of my four years as a student athlete I received the scholar athlete award. My senior year I earned the honor of being named to the ICGSA Basketball Academic All-State along with only 39 other girls in the state. I believe that my high school academic record represents all the time and effort that I have put into achieving my goals academically.” She plans to attend the University of Evansville to pursue a degree in athletic training, with the ultimate goal of working with professional athletes.  Cheyenna was elected senior class president, played basketball throughout high school, and was also active in 4-H.

This year the Foundation awarded 34 scholarships to 19 students with $100,337 in tuition funds awarded.

Congratulations, Cheyenna!