Foundation Scholarship Endowment Awards: Sam Griffin

Sam Griffin received the Chester C. O’Neal Scholarship, James W. Robertson Scholarship, and the Class of 1962 Scholarship, all endowments of the Fayette County Foundation.  All scholarships require that applicants have at least a 3.0 GPA, are a graduating senior of Connersville High School.

Chester C. O’Neal Scholarship was established in 2004 by Dale and Betty Ford.

James W. Robertson Scholarship was created with a gift from the Fayette County School Corporation in 2006.

Class of 1962 Scholarship was created in 2008 with initial gifts from classmates Sara Poe and Helen Sanders.

Sam Griffin is now attending Butler University as part of the pre-pharmacy program.  “There are three things that I believe set me apart from other high school seniors. I know who I am, I know what I want, and I know where I’m going,” Sam said.  “Upon graduation, my goal is to return to the Whitewater Valley and put my degree to great work. I want to be an active, productive, high functioning member of our community. Our area needs returning graduates. I plan to be one of them.”

This year the Foundation awarded 34 scholarships to 19 students with $100,337 in tuition funds awarded.

Congratulations, Sam!